Commandments 

As an artist,

I must accept

the pain which

surrounds my life

and also, I 

must accept the happiness.

As an artist,

I must observe 

the foolish ones

and marvel over the wise.

I must be brave,

I cannot hide.

As an artist,

I must be prepared 

for hate,

I must welcome each word

as if it were my own.

As a being,

I must learn to function alone.

I shall grieve

when grief allows

and shall laugh

when humour follows.

I will not drown

in my own sorrow.

As an artist,

I must learn

to accept this world

and all its life forms.

As a woman,

I shall never conform. 

Leave a Reply

