Child

I was only a child

when it first happened,

so I knew no better

but you knew,

you understood.

My body was thrown

around an empty room,

with bruise after bruise,

I never lost my pride.

Only now, do I feel

the need to hide,

hide from the souls

who I once thought

could do no wrong.

I will never forget

the first touch,

the guilt,

the sheets made from

fresh silk,

pristine to the eyes

but crumbling with

the dirt of such lies.

I was only a child

when I first learnt 

the true meaning of evil,

looking into your mind,

shut the door,

close the blinds;

alone.

I was only a child before that night,

before happiness was replaced

with fright.

You knew,

you understood 

and I was all but a woman.

One thought on “Child

Leave a Reply

