Fake Leather?

Two men entered the building

first;

one carrying a briefcase 

and the other, clasping his

hands together.

I can only imagine the

case was made from leather

because the men looked

far too out of place

and far too… normal.

I can’t tell you

why my eyes drifted to them,

they seemed perfectly up to no good,

carrying on with life.

Receiving a call from the wife,

man no 1 answered and

proposed they had steak and chips

for tea

and that he’d be home in 20 minutes.

He didn’t notice me.

Man no 2 appeared from

the lobby of the building

but with no briefcase!

Who would leave an item so divine

behind?

It was only when I 

fell to sleep that night

that I realised,

it was only fake leather.

Leave a Reply

