Fool

So I told them first of all

I wanted to be a doctor,

just to assure them

I was fine, completely

engrossed in the idea

of making money

in such a poor world.

I told them

I’d start up my own business,

to their surprise,

my organisational skills

were still up to date

and then came

the day I actually told them:

“I want to be an artist.”

“Of what?”

“Of life, of everything I see,

I want to project my views

onto the world, to influence

the eyes of those

who were once too blind

to see. I want to be known,

I want to know I’ve

acted upon the choices

within my own head,

I don’t want to die

and just be dead.”

 

“Well I suppose that doesn’t sound too bad, but what about accounting?”

 

Leave a Reply

