Create Shyness

I thought once

that I wanted

to be a performer,

only, I hated 

to be watched,

hated the stares,

hated the looks

of judgement. 

I decided I

could be a 

pretty good writer,

you don’t have

to be seen, 

you can crumble

within the page,

not having to

face the stares

yourself. 

I wrote a few

terribly executed poems,

brought some books,

took up smoking

and sat inside,

day after day. 

I suppose then

I was an alright artist,

I was true,

every single part

of my creation

was new,

I was free

to be

whatever there

was to be. 

I thought once

I could be an actor,

but I’m an awful

liar. 

Leave a Reply

