Next Neighbours 

I watch

as they walk

up the street,

off somewhere nice,

off to somewhere important,

I don’t dwell

on them much,

only when I see them

smiling

do I regret

this desire of mine

for shade;

o to be like them!

To be reckless,

to be happy

in the sense of

knowing not much

at all. 

I watch them leave,

I wait for their return,

always on time,

they reappear,

as if nothing

has changed. 

I close the windows

as I see them pass,

enough for now,

they’re gone,

nothing I could’ve done,

nothing to stop

their dreams

from drowning my own;

I watch

as they walk

up the street,

off somewhere nice,

off to somewhere complete. 

Leave a Reply

