25

I hate to arrive 

at such a time,

am I late?

I saw your fathers car

in the drive,

thought it best

to wait. 

All the curtains

were drawn

this morning,

I watched you appear

out the shower,

your hair slicked back,

you were smiling,

laughing with someone

I could not see…

who was it?

I have been meaning

to come back,

though the time

has never felt right. 

May I come in?

I know,

I know

it is foolish of me

to think

you’d be the same,

smell the same,

feel the same,

love the same. 

I hate to arrive

so late,

I feel like every hour

I’ve missed

could’ve been saved

with just one kiss. 

Leave a Reply

