Longest Fear

Thinking of it

spurs something 

in my chest 

to start jumping,

jumping in time

with the beats 

of my heart,

jumping in such 

a way I’ve 

failed to mention

before this; 

heat,

my chest’s burning,

my mouth will

soon start to

spit fire like

a dragon if 

I don’t shut

up,

like a beast

if I don’t 

shut 

up,

like someone I’ve 

never seen 

if I don’t 

shut up-

thinking,

thinking of it,

its burning stuck

between my throat 

and my teeth,

my teeth bite 

against each other

in a flurry 

of panic;

I’m not scared,

I’m hoping it

will burn me

alive so

I,

so I-

shut up. 

Leave a Reply

