Quitting 

I light another;

my mouth’s burning,

my tongue sticking

to my teeth-

but the flame,

it’s warming my

insides with something-

at least, something. 

So, I light another,

then another;

my eyes burn,

all that I once saw

is breaking like ash

at my fingertips,

and the flame,

it still burns,

burns a hole right 

from my throat 

to my stomach-

another. 

I light another,

the sun falls under

the weight of the moon;

darkness. 

Trees twist,

blowing in the wind-

I should really quit. 

Leave a Reply

